The Asia Pacific Blood and Marrow Transplantation Group (APBMT) is an international organization which is involved in hematological stem cell transplantation, sharing their information and cooperating with basic and clinical research in Asia-Pacific countries. It was initiated by transplant physicians from China, Hong Kong, Iran, Japan, Malaysia and Vietnam in 1990. They held early APBMT meetings in China and Japan from 1990 to 1994. Since then, the plenary meetings have been held 4 times from 1995 to 2003 and they have been held annually since 2004. In 2000, APBMT planned to have transplantation-case registry system as a symbol of the unity of the group and initiated APBMT Registry (consisted of annual Activity Survey and annual Outcome Registration) in 2006. By this moment, the annual Activity Survey was performed 11 times and you can see their results through our website and annual reports. In 2006, APBMT established own structures to keep and expand its activity, which are consisted of the Executive Board, Scientific Committee, Regular Members, Supporting Members, Tentative Attendees and Secretarial Office/Data Center (located in Japan). In 2009, APBMT fixed the bylaws and also confirmed that APBMT was one of the founding members of Worldwide Network for Blood and Marrow Transplantation (WBMT). APBMT is now comprised of 22 countries/regions (Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, The Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam) and is expanding its activities through the annual congresses, registration systems and working groups under the collaboration with the member societies of WBMT.

APBMT member country 2019.png

APBMT Organization

Detailed information of APBMT members, Committees, Boards

>>APBMT Organization


APBMT Officer

Shinichiro Okamoto
Department of Hematology, Keio University 
35Shinanomachi, Shinjuku, Tokyo, 160-8582, Japan


Secreatariat Office / Data Center
Department of Promotion for Blood and Marrow Transplantation,
Aichi Medical University School of Medicine
1-1 Yazako karimata, Nagakute, Aichi, 480-1195, Japan
Tel: +81 561 62 3311 (Ext.12375) Fax:+81 561 61 3180
Minako Iida
Yoshiko Atsuta
Yukari Nakao
Hiroe Namizaki
Yoshihisa Kodera (Past-President)